The Origin of Freedom

The first woman walked

Where, she did not know

The road was empty, dark

She was alone

A promise was made in that silence

I won’t look back

To the hurt, the pain

I won’t look back

To his violence

His menacing hand

Shall no longer haunt my dreams

His vile words

Will no longer stab my confidence

 

The second woman walked

Away from her family

The people that raised her

They did not understand

How she could love another

So different from them

Leave him, they said

And she knew what she would do

She walked away

From discrimination

A promise was made in that silence

I won’t look back

To their taunting smiles

At their sneers of contempt

I won’t look back

At the violence they threaten

I refuse its fear

I won’t look back

At their false logic

 

The third woman walked

Towards self- respect

One in which man did not dictate

What she ate, where she went, who she was

Her husband was no more

But her dignity was intact

They wanted her to regain her purity

Dress in white

Mourn his passing

Live with the burden of his absence

She refused

And she walked

A promise was made in that silence

I won’t look back

To their cultural anchors

I will free myself

From a life of servitude

I won’t look back

At forced purity

I won’t look back

At their blind rituals

Their hypocrisy

 

A fourth woman stood

At the edge of the world

Waiting for a breeze

To take her and her unborn

To another place, a better place

She had suffered

And did not see a world

In which her unborn daughter

Was free of the chains

That bound her

She held her swollen belly

Caressed it one last time

And waited for the breeze

 

Three women walked

Reached the edge of the world

They saw her

She who had surrendered will

And they spoke

Telling their stories

Stories of violence

Of hate

Of death

When they spoke

The woman listened

The life inside her listened

Until, like an emerging sunrise

The woman saw beauty

She saw hope

She saw freedom

She saw life

 

The fourth woman walked

Away from the edge of the world

She walked towards a life

Where destiny played no part

Where she was the writer of her story

The maker of her journey

A promise was made in that silence

I won’t look back

At the memory of duty

Where who I am is decided

Before I am born

I won’t look back

At the limits set on my ability

I won’t look back

With shame at my gender

At their jeering glances

Opportunistic advances

I will not be afraid

And as she walked

With three women by her side

Freedom was born

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

